Apprentice Hub

Evidence-based summaries are written and reviewed by clinical experts.  They aim to provide quick access for clinicians and allied health professionals to the most reliable and current evidence to inform best practice.  Use evidence-based summaries to provide a sound basis for assessment, diagnosis and decision making for specific conditions and medical topics. BMJ Best Practice and Cochrane Library require an NHS OpenAthens.

The Cochrane Library provides access to high-quality evidence and comprises a suite of databases Including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it. The BMJ Best Practice step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and prevention is updated daily using robust evidence-based methodology and expert opinion.

BMJ Best Practice is easy to log in to.  If you need a little help you can watch this video.

Oxford Handbooks and Medical Textbooks.  Access to over 130 Oxford University Press medical and healthcare textbooks and handbooks online. Includes the Oxford Handbook of Pre-Hospital Care 2nd ed. Access requires and NHS OpenAthens account.  

Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS) are concise, accessible and up to date summaries of current evidence for primary care professionals. CKS covers over 350 topics.  The topics focus on the most common and significant presentations in primary care.