Library Update

The way LKS ASE manages your search requests is changing 

LKS ASE is taking part in a project to prepare for the decommissioning of NICE Evidence Search HDAS (Healthcare Databases Advanced Search) in 2021.  As part of the project LKS ASE will continue to use the same range of databases to answer your enquiries, however, we will search them differently.  We will be searching databases using the interfaces provided by database publishers.  This means we have added in an extra step to the process collating all the results from different databases via EndNote referencing software.  This gives us some extra flexibility to deliver search results to you. 

Making a request 

Search requests are normally made through the library website.  The search request form now invites you to make choices about how your search results will be presented to you.  If you request a search via eMail and don’t express a preference, we will contact you to clarify your requirements.  

  The choices you have are:  

• Sort the results for me and present them using the LKS ASE form 

• Just send me the abstracts 

How search results will be presented 

Level 1 - Quick Search   

If you just ask for the references and abstracts, search results will be sent to you as they are collated and extracted from the database(s). LKS ASE will send you a WORD, RIS or PDF file via eMail. Just tick the box on the search request form to make your choice. 

Level 2 - For Clinical enquiries 

Searches for clinical enquiries are processed using the Clinical Proforma which sorts evidence into types e.g. Summaries, Guidelines and Evidence Based Reviews.  The proforma also records search details and databases used. 

Level 2- For Work based projects and improvement enquiries 

Searches for enquiries around work-based projects, improvement projects and other non-clinical topics will use the Target proforma that sorts results into three categories: Essential, Useful and Background. 

Summary Diagram 

You can find examples of the forms on the library website.